• riverbender

I am happy to be here! I wish I'd had this kind of quality structured education back when I played online around 2005-'07. I worked my way up to NL25/50 and became delusional enough to think I could play for a living. After having consumed much of the basic info here, I now see just how BAD I play! :f_eek:

I live in the US. After UIGEA when we started arresting people, I decided playing online was probably -EV. So, I got a real job and haven't played online since then. I actually just started back a few days ago. I have maybe 500 hands played so far. All of them badly! :f_cry:

Now that I have a real job, I'm finding I need something "fun" to do. I love my work (usually) but honestly, I love poker more.

Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker? (Be as vague or specific as you want with this one, but try to think of all the reasons and elaborate on them.)

Right now it's simply to have fun. I am self employed, so all I do really is work and sleep. I need something else in my life!! I'm here to improve my game. I have fun learning and getting better at all things, not just poker.

And of course win. I like winning. That said, I don't expect to be able to withdraw my initial BR deposit or any winnings I might make. If I can, great. If not, I'm OK with that too.

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker? (What are the mistakes you know you are making during your games? Are you playing while you're tired? Are you tilting easily? Want to see the showdown too much? Write down as many as you think are affecting you.)