[Quesion] Steals and Resteals

    • ebfin
      ebfin
      Bronze
      Joined: 09.08.2011 Posts: 2
      Say an opponent or more calls the big blind, but doesn't raise, before it reaches one of the later positions from which you would attempt a steal from. Do you still attempt the steal?
  • 4 replies
    • ExternalUseOnly
      ExternalUseOnly
      Bronze
      Joined: 30.01.2010 Posts: 3,373
      Hey ebfin

      The raising chart is specifically designed to keep beginners out of as much trouble as possible. Whilst we don't fold all hands we would normally steal with we have to be selective because people have already entered the hand. In this situation you should refer to the Starting Hand Chart and find hands we can raise with from late position when people have already limped.

      Does this make sense?
      Carl
    • ebfin
      ebfin
      Bronze
      Joined: 09.08.2011 Posts: 2
      Yes it does. Thanks for clearing that up Carl!
    • ExternalUseOnly
      ExternalUseOnly
      Bronze
      Joined: 30.01.2010 Posts: 3,373
      No problem, feel free to ask away if you need help with anything else
    • VorpalF2F
      VorpalF2F
      Super Moderator
      Super Moderator
      Joined: 02.09.2010 Posts: 8,901
      I would add this:
      From the Button or Cutoff positions, raising over limpers is feasible, if you heed Carl's warning about careful hand selection. Follow the recommendation about bet size, 4BB + 1 per limper. If everyone at your table is opening 3BB, then make it 3BB + 1 per limper.

      Even though you can steal from the SB, doing so after 1 or more limpers means that if you are called, you are now trying to play OOP vs an opponent whose range will be difficult to judge. So be even MORE careful in the SB.

      Careful opponent selection is useful too.


      Good Luck!
      --VS