Hi there

• elda420
      elda420
      Bronze
      So I've been a member for a few months now and I figured I might aswell introduce myself here in a proper fashion.

Hi, my name's Alex and I'm a 20yo Japanese-French CS student who got started in poker about 3 months ago after spending 2 years trying to hit grandmaster on Starcraft II and getting really close sometimes but never achieveing it.
      I'm now grinding NL10 FR games on stars (with an untracked account, unfortunately) and doing okay even though I experience HUGE swings (both ups and downs) all the time which might just be me playing a high variance style without realizing it.

Anyway, not sure what else I can say about myself, I don't have any previous experience in poker but I'm trying to learn as fast as I can ~

See ya in the strategy threads !
  • 8 replies
    • gadget51
      gadget51
      Bronze
      Hello Alex and a warm welcome to the community!

If you are new to poker may I suggest you click the link to the NL Beginners Course at the bottom of this post? It's totaly free and you will learn how to win and find out what causes those huge swings (I seem to have them to :D ).

If you need further help just ask ok, it's what we're here for.

Good luck at the tables and have fun on the forums,

Mal.
    • ExternalUseOnly
      ExternalUseOnly
      Bronze
      Hey alex :)

What does a CS student study?

Aww untracked :( maybe one day you will fancy a change and sign up somewhere else tracked :) and rise up through the status ranks :) Maybe you are playing a high variance style. How big is your sample size of hands?

Regards
      Carl
    • elda420
      elda420
      Bronze
      Hi, thanks gadget51 and ExternalUseOnly for the welcome !

As a computer science student, I have various classes ranging from programming, math, stats and data management. Nothing too crazy as I'm only on my 2nd year.

And yeah, I might decide to get another account at party or something and have it tracked :)