d3vin666

• d3vin666
      d3vin666
      Bronze
      Hi Guys,

I started to play poker on 2010, but I wasn't that serious during that time because so many things to do, mainly works. But now, I started to manage my time to play poker and works. Probably because mainly I'm an independent stock day trader and scuba diving instructor. So if you guys want to learn scuba diving, you know who to call :p

Now, to the homework.

Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker? (Be as vague or specific as you want with this one, but try to think of all the reasons and elaborate on them.)

I sometimes think that day trading and poker are quite similar. In term of psychology to money management. Some people called me, I'm a risk junkie. Maybe they're right, maybe they aren't. Somewhere along the line on one of trading books or internet forum discussed why people like trading. It said if I can remember, with trading either in stocks, future or forex, people can have the freedom of expressing themselves. Somewhat I found this is true for me at least. Same like poker, the "ball" is always on our court (just remembered my high school teacher used to say).

Funny things, I don't like gambling such as crap, roullete, jackpot, etc. Blackjack? hmm..still unsure about this, because I used to play and my friend taught me to count the cards, but didn't see the main skill on it. Maybe I was wrong. But Poker, just as said, similar to trading, to me is not gambling maybe about 10-20% luck factor exists. But the rest is a skills.

So to cut thing short, the motivation for playing poker. To me, I love games! especially with skills, strategy and real rewards. Also, correct me if I'm wrong, I like observing other people psychology. Like why they raise, fold or call. They must do it because they have their own reasons, and I think I can connect their reasons to their personality or life behaviour. Risk averse or risk taker? I hope this helps answer #1 homework.