NL HU Challenge (NL50+)

• ains21
      ains21
      Bronze
      Hey guys!

How's it going? Hope poker is treating everyone well and you're all crushing (except on my tables). I've decided to start another blog (I already had one before tracking my progress from NL10-100 SH) in an attempt to force myself to learn, once and for all, how to play no limit heads up. Though I've played a fair bit already, I've never really been a great player: I often spew and find myself in a lot of spots where I don't really know what I'm doing.

No more! A bit of history: I started playing properly (i.e. more than donking around) in June at NL10 SH and swiftly (and fortunately) made my way up the stakes to my latest attempt at a NL100 shot. That shot was taken at 25BI and peaked at 34BI, before suddenly dropping back down to 20 (my stop loss). This dramatic drop was exacerbated today by my playing HU while tilted and spewing off about 5-6 BI (my actually NL100 6max graph is about break even I think). So, following in the footsteps of many I'm sure, I've decided to cut my tilty losing streak short in and through blog creation (yeah, right).

Stop! Here's something I need to post here to remind myself: I didn't shoot up the limits because I'm a great cash game player, but because I won a lot of MTTs. I still need to learn how to crush, and there is no substitute for hard work. I need to get over myself and work harder at my game.

So how will this blog work? I'm going to be learning to play HU using three simple steps:

(1) Watching every HU video under the sun and making notes/discussing hands.

(2) Performing meticulous hand and session reviews in the mornings before playing. Not just looking at big losses but at entire sessions thinking: why did this guy have an edge on me? How could I reduce that edge?