Moving Up To Where They Respect My Raises

• metza
      metza
      Bronze
      Right, so my name's Zac and I am a newly graduated student from New Zealand. I have been playing poker for almost exactly a year now.

Live poker:

I've had some decent success in live poker, I got second in my first ever $5 BI tourney for $90 after reading Harrington on Hold'em (great book) and over a year turned that into 1.2k from live tourneys, biggest win was 2nd place of 90 in a deepstack freezeout. However I have never won a live tourney. So many second places, usually a bad beat as I feel like I play my strongest game HU which many live tourney players are terrible at.

Online:

Ever since I started out, I just want to play HU cash games. But this is not an option at my stake level as I keep my live and online rolls separate.

Over 150k hands at NL2-10 FR (dunno why I start out FR) I turned $50 to $300, however lost $200 of that in NL50 HU cash when I got impatient. It was stupid because even though I was better than the few opponents I played, 6BI brm simply does not work :f_biggrin: I lost a $100 pot AA vs 69o in a 4bet pot vs major fish, all in on turn of 3246....river 9. :rage: Needless to say I have learned my lesson the hard way.

I decided I was a bit too aggressive for FR and moved to 6max about 2 weeks ago, played 10k hands. Haven't been running great but I feel like it suits me a lot more, and my EV line looks alright. This is mainly due to a fantastic ebook called Building A Bankroll by Verneer.

Will try to move up the SH stakes (currently at NL5 SH using 20BI brm), until my BR is 1k. Then I will use some money from my live BR for coaching, and try to play NL50HU the right way. If anyone has a better suggestion of when to take a shot at NL50HU, please say so.

Goals

2013:

[x] Complete Coursera Game Theory Course (completed but failed w 68%)
      [x]Beat NL5SH
      [x] Beat NL10SH
      [] Beat NL25SH
      [] Beat NL50SH
      [] Beat NL50HU