My poker journey... maybe this time I can get it right!

• gggeorgio
      gggeorgio
      Bronze
      Hi, my name is Georg and I'm a 20 year old guy from Canada. I started playing poker around 2 years ago for play money. I then entered a freeroll tourney on pokerstars to qualify for the WSOP main event. I ended up finishing 3rd after a great deal of luck and winning 2000$. I immediately started playing NL1/2 SH since 'I was sure' that I was great because I had lucked out in 1 tourney. I only played for a day, and at one point was up close to 500$ then lost down to -200$. At that point I realized how over my head I was and I withdrew all the money and continued to play for playmoney.

A little less than a year ago I joined pokerstrategy because I was bored of play money, but not willing to deposit my own money in poker. I got the 50$ on party poker and turned it into about 350$ before losing it all playing sng's and tourneys above my BR. After this I didn't play for some time, and then 3 months ago I got another 50$ from a different site and started playing on Fulltilt. This time I made it to 1000$ playing touneys and sngs, but once again was just kinda playing for fun and used the BR philosophy of 'if I lose it all I'm still break even since I never deposited'. So I ended up losing most of this roll as well.

Finally here I am today, and I've been playing for around a month with 50$ I got on Absolute poker. The difference this time is that I'm actually taking it more 'seriously' and playing good BRM along with spending at least an equal amount of time reading articles, posting hands, browsing forums, watching videos and attending the occasional coachings. So far things have gone quite well and I'm up to just under 500$.