My goals challenges and mishaps.

• nutbreakerla
      nutbreakerla
      Bronze
      First I a bit about myself. I have been playing poker for a few years now. I started playing because I needed something to take away focus from emotions. It seems to be the only thing that can accomplish that. This past year my passion for poker has grown. Mostly because I didn't have the time to play.

Last year my total games on stars was 365. You can't do well playing so little and when you do play you just don't have the confidence as what you learn doesn't retain and you can't fill your leaks. So I am starting back from the very start, with 18 mans.

I am going to use this blog to keep track of my goals, improvements, failures and next steps.

My poker goals for this month:

1. Play 1k 18-man 3.50 sit n gos.
      2. Work my way up to 12 tables.

I started off the month at four tables. I have been able to work my way up to 9 tables comfortably. Was going to post my graph but couldn't figure out how that worked. :)
  • 9 replies
    • Rick21
      Rick21
      Silver
      Ok, nice story but you have left some parts out:

- bankroll management - how many buy ins / when to move up or down...
      - training - what are you going to do to improve, e.g. Watch 2 videos a month / read X amount of articles / sit in on coaching
      - mental game - how often you find yourself tilting, is this a major issue?
      - goals - e.g. Where you want to be 6 months / 1-2 years from now

I believe setting goals is important because once you have played 1k tourneys, where do you go from there? I did something similar a year or two back and ended up wasting my time because I had no goals, just trying to help you not make the same mistake :)
    • nutbreakerla
      nutbreakerla
      Bronze
      Originally posted by Rick21
      Ok, nice story but you have left some parts out:

- bankroll management - how many buy ins / when to move up or down...