Micropkr grinder

• coogan
      coogan
      Bronze
      I started playing poker about 18 months ago. The way I started was via Facebook. A friend kept sending me game requests and eventually I tried it out. So for about the first 6 months I played only freeplay poker.

Last January, it was a kind of new years resolution to find a hobby that I might be able to make a little money from. My main hobby up till then was MMORPGs, which cost me a monthly subscription and from which I was never likely to make any profit. From my six months playing freeplay poker I imagined I might be able to turn a profit from poker and so in January last year I deposited my first money into an iPoker skin.

At the time I was completely new to the scene and didn't know that there was any such thing as free bankrolls available. In fact if anyone had offered me a free bankroll back then I would have assumed it was a scam and been afraid to even click on the link! I even managed to deposit my money without receiving any kind of bonus :)

Anyhow, that's how I started out in January 2012. I started playing 1c/2c cashgames and went on like that for a couple of months, running at a slight loss.

I forget when exactly I came across pokerstrategy, but I think it was sometime last summer when I saw mention of the free bankroll on a forum and that was what drew my attention. I think it was the fact that I had to do a quiz to get the money that led me to believe that it wasn't actually a scam because it was like I had to do something to earn the money! Before this I had also gotten the free money from 888 and that had also gotten me used to the idea of free bankrolls.

So I got my bankroll on Party Poker and began to play. I got off to a pretty good start on SNGs and deposited money to release the rest of my bankroll and continued to play pretty well, maintaining my bankroll and increasing it gradually; all the while slowly releasing my bonus for depositing.