New To Poker

• adamrothwell
      adamrothwell
      Bronze
      Hi, i'm fairly new to poker. I enjoy playing MTT and sit and go's with 45 players +. I am reading Harringtons books mostly and reading posts on here. I have started playing 0.25 45 player sit and go's 2 tables at a time usually. Am I wise to keep on playing these until I start to get ITM / win some. Will I be able to build a bankroll playing these, The prizes are very small. I just thought it would be a good way to get experience. Where would you advise I move up to after these, some $1 tournaments?. thanks.
  • 20 replies
    • arthurbentley
      arthurbentley
      Silver
      Those 0.25 45-mans are great bankroll builders. I made over $180 playing 1,500 of these. So yes, I think you should definitely concentrate on them. The $1 45-mans on 'stars are just as soft as the 0.25 games, and I recommend a bankroll of 150 buy-ins to cover variance. These games are chock full of donks and calling stations. Which is what you want, but at the same time, you will go through periods of getting rivered one game after another because the fish won't lay bottom pair down.
    • adamrothwell
      adamrothwell
      Bronze
      thanks arthur, ok great i will do. did you make the $180 mostly by coming 1st?.did it take you long to consistently get ITM? is it a good idea to learn from harringtons books aswell as on here?. I'm going to buy HEM2 when i make enough money to buy it. I have trialled it before.
    • arthurbentley
      arthurbentley
      Silver
      One tip about MMTs. Don't play to min cash. Play to win!!!!!! This is the most profitable strategy to take. You will need about 5,000 chips for the final table. If you are down to say 3,000 chips near the FT bubble, don't be afraid of taking a 60:40 to double up, or re-steal limped pots by shoving over the top. If you bust out, you bust out. Better than min cashing all the time which will give you a low ROI.