Adam's Poker Adventure

• adamrothwell
      adamrothwell
      Bronze
      Ok so i'm new to poker. i'm reading all of Harrington's books on tournament poker, using this website and using a free trial of poker tracker 4. I've already used Holdem manager and ran out of trial time. I'll buy holdem manager one day im sure, i prefer it.

I've previously played a few micro tournaments on party poker and not done particularly well. I used to just try and make the money usually with hardly any chips left.

I'm now playing 44 man mtt $0.25 on pokerstars. I'm playing with the aim of winning the tournament. So far i've 26 tournaments over the past few days. My only finish itm was 5th place. I was chip leader for a while dropped to about 3rd and felt i had a good position to push but i got beat. I've gone out on the bubble a couple of times aswell in 8th, a couple of times when i had a stack in the top 5 but i pushed as a favourite and lost a couple of times. I've finished in 9th and 10th a few times too. I'm getting reasonably close to starting to get itm more. I felt i was going to in my last 2 games because i managed to get pretty big stacks but lost half my chips with my ak getting beat vs aj and earlier my kk got beat by 55 hitting trips in my other game. I'm not sure what i can do to improve other than keep on playing, looking back at where i'm losing most of my chips and reading / learning as much as i can. I started with $15 and now i'm down to $10.50. I'm going to keep playing though and see if i can build my bankroll and start to improve and win some.
  • 309 replies
    • legand73
      legand73
      Bronze
      Hey adamrothwell

Welcome to our blogging section and the wonderful world of poker. Good luck with your adventure. Are you enjoying Harrington's books, I've heard they're quite good.
      HEM2 is awesome by the way definitely worth the money. Anyway good luck!!

Regards,
      Luke
    • adamrothwell
      adamrothwell
      Bronze