zolaman

• zolaman
      zolaman
      Bronze
      Hi All,

I have been playing poker for a several years now but have never taken it too seriously. I have jumped from poker room to poker room and haven’t had any great successes but have done alright in most. Learning about BRM has been a huge help in my game but my overall play and decision-making (or lack of) can get questionable at times.

I used to mainly play SNGs but I found the variance and committing to sitting at a table for 1+ hours hard to deal with at times. I now play NL2 and have had some pretty good success and the question I am asking myself now is if it is worth investing into a tracker at this limit (almost able to play NL5) or should I continue to play and get it later?

Having been a member for quite some time now and my revived interest in poker, I have decided to start this course since I believe it will be an invaluable resource and tool in helping me improve my game.

Now, onto starting the course!

Lesson 1:

Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker?

To learn. My main goal/focus in many activities I undertake is to learn and ultimately become a better person/player. The cash is also a great bonus.

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker?

I find that my main weakness in poker is mindset but in terms of skill areas, perhaps bet sizing/timing and calculations (odds, equity, etc.). I am actively trying to improve my game in these areas every time I play.

Question 3: What does it mean to play tight aggressive?

This is very much so my style of play as I find it is the optimal approach in micro-limits since it involves playing only quality hands OOP and slightly widening your range as you get closer to the button. You are typically trying to raise and re-raise preflop to ensure the lead/best hand and continuation betting is important to keep up the pressure.
  • 3 replies
    • zolaman
      zolaman
      Bronze
      I hope it's OK to continue on to Lesson 2: