Poker & University

• wnbMG
      wnbMG
      Bronze
      Hi.

I'm PLO50 HU winner and I can make probably at least 10€/h. Average salary in country where I live is around 1k€. I ussually like playing poker (but It's really stressful, even I'm natural stoic).

I'm a freshman studying physics (already second year) and for me it's really hard to play poker and study for university. Because even if I play for like 1h/day I'm thinking almost all day about poker (or my mind is too nervous because of poker) and can't (100%) concentrate on my uni stuff.

I'm thinking about quitting poker till the end of university (another 2 years), try some new stuff in this time (like blogging, programming...) and then reevaluating what is the best for me. What do you guys think?

I think It's really risky to become professional poker player because even if you are making like 5xaverage salary income you have to think about future years and things like: (much) tougher games, new laws about online poker...

(Sorry for my english).

Thanks for advices.

GL
  • 14 replies
    • ains21
      ains21
      Bronze
      Hello.

In my personal experience I believe that putting poker almost entirely to one side during your studies is the right way to go. Like you, I always found it hard during my studies to apply myself consistently and would end up looking at hands etc. online and thinking about poker when I wasn't playing. And I wasn't even a winning player: I had just caught the bug and was messing around at NL25. In the end I just stopped playing and content myself with watching the occasional video, and my studies really benefited.