BTN: $2.66
      SB: $2.09
      BB: $4.00
      UTG: $1.46
      MP: $4.85
      Hero (CO): $6.68

Pre Flop: ($0.06) Hero is CO with A :diamond: 5 :diamond:
      2 folds, Hero raises to $0.16, BTN calls $0.16, 2 folds

Flop: ($0.38) A :heart: J :heart: 9 :diamond: (2 players)
      Hero bets $0.25,
      BTN folds

Final Pot: $0.38
      Hero wins $0.11
      (Rake: $0.27)

I have a lot of questions about this hand. I pretty much feel like a total beginner still and am trying to get the hang of post-flop play according to the basic strategy article. The answers probably involve some higher level strategy, however and I’m not sure whether I should start reading the advanced strategy articles before I feel comfortable / master the basic post-flop play.

BTN is very loose pre-flop and pretty loose after the flop. He likes to min-bet or bet 2BB. I haven't seen him re-raise yet. If he's been paying attention he knows I'm tight (playing according the chart.)

Do I bet the flop? If so, how much should I have bet? I know I have a weak hand but feel I need to protect it. I'm sure that if I check, he bets (2BB) and I have to fold. He would probably also do so if he only hit a 9 or a J.

I know I should fold if he raises.

If he calls and a blank comes on the turn, do I bet again or check-fold?

If he calls and a flush or straight card comes on the turn. Do I bet again or check-fold?

If he calls a turn bet and a blank comes on the river do I bet? (Okay I realize that speculating about a river here is a bit much perhaps.)

OMG! The agony of being out of position! ;-)

Thanks for your time!
  • 1 reply
    • kymupa

It's great that you have so many questions - that means that you are looking forward to improve your game as soon as possible. Keep this going.

Now to the hand:

Preflop raising is good.

On this flop cbetting is definitely good. There are quite a lot of worse hands that would call us - like Jx/9x/FD/gutshots and even if he folds we are happy to pick up the pot.