New to 5cd

• blom90
      Im new to PL 5 card draw. Im started to play some heads up.
      When I raise from the button with a hand like Axxxx. Is it best to draw 5 new cards or should I keep my Ace?

Then I wonder in 6 max PL5CD – how tight should I be and how much should I 3-bet?
  • 3 replies
    • VorpalF2F
      Super Moderator
      Super Moderator
      Hi, blom90
      Wow -- I'm impressed that you are able to play heads up 5CD.
      What limit do you play HU? Do you play HU PL 5CD?

I play $0.25/$0.50, and I usually leave the table when there is less than 4 players remaining.

Otherwise, the blinds are coming very fast.

As to your question, I cannot imagine raising then drawing 4 or 5
      If you DO raise then D4, then you are openly stating that you have no pair.

The median hand is AKQJ6 or AKQJ7
      So if you are raising with less that than, then more than half the time you are already beat.

I have read (I can't remember where) that you can raise AQxxx from the SB, but when I do that, I consider it a bluff.

Have you read the article on 5CD?

There are also 2 videos that I know of that you might find useful.

• blom90
      Thanks for the tips! The videos was great. Would be really nice to read the articles also, but I can't reach silver-status because I can't play tracked.

I play FL 5CD HU at 0.25/0.50. Been working good so far, but I guess that was most luck.
      Been playing some 6-max 5CD after i watched the videos. So much more fun now when I understand the game a little bit more.

Got a new question. How light can i call when I'm bb and BU raise?

Also is there ever any idea to bluff at 0.25/0.50?
    • VorpalF2F
      Super Moderator
      Super Moderator
      How light can i call when I'm bb and BU raise?
      Since it is fixed limit it is all about pot odds.

If you are raised from the BTN the pot stands at 1.75 BB you are getting 3.5:1 to call, but will be out-of-position.