Learning about the Stats

• Spikelema
      Spikelema
      Bronze
      New question from me :D

If I am interested in learning about the "statistics" of poker. EV, VPIP, etc. What is the best place to start?

I would like to be able to start using the data I am gathering with HM2 to actually help read my opponent rather than just see if I am winning or losing.

I am NOT experienced in poker.

Thanks in Advance
  • 9 replies
    • metza
      metza
      Bronze
      VPIP/PFR are the most useful to start off with in my opinion, as knowing your opponents preflop ranges helps a lot with postflop decisions.

Fold to Flop Cbet can be pretty useful to a beginner. Remember that it is important to know what flops will hit your opponents range well or weakly as well. An opponent with a tight preflop range might fold to 50%* (*just an example number) of cbets overall, but on a flop like AKJ they will be folding much less than 50% of their range.

Don't rely too heavily on the stats. Especially when you have less than 20 hands on an opponent. Even 100 hands is not a big sample. It can be very useful to tell when someone is totally out of line though. If someone has VPIP 65 and PFR 60 over even just twenty hands, you can be fairly confident that they are a fish and are raising weak hands.
    • spreeboy
      spreeboy
      Bronze
      At first, your own HEM sample is the best sample to use when studying or getting sense about stats.

You can start by posting your own stats here. You will receive feedback from players and you can start asking questions along the way. Also, it is a good way for us to know about your current knowledge about the game.

Learning about opponent stats and their exploitability could wait. Btw, what stakes are you playing at?
    • Spikelema
      Spikelema
      Bronze