tfw 6 max soldier

• ains21
      ains21
      Bronze
      Sup guys.

How's it going? My name is Tom (ains) and I'm pretty happy to be starting a blog here as a 6 max soldier this month (it was a close one making diamond again .. didn't have too much time spare and NL50 was a drag). Thought I'd keep this here to track progress and to post thoughts/have discussions with other guys trying to get out of the micro/small stakes rut. Here's some history for you, if you're interested.

Poker History

So basically I got into poker while I was at uni: one of my friends played a lot and was a decent reg at HU NL200+ (I think -- I never really asked too much info), as well as a pretty decent MTT player (I remember the first time he told me he was playing ME@WSOP -- I looked up this so called "world series" tournament and I was like OMFG THIS GUY IS PRO). I started playing recreationally in my second year and continued into my third, just donking out playing NL2 and small 88c MTTs on 888 poker. I never really had any success, but read a lot on PS.com and watched a lot of high stakes poker.

After I graduated (1st class woot) I thought I'd give poker a decent shot and try and get somewhere with it. The way I see it: if my hobby can get me some money on the side, and always be there (within reason) as a back up should I find myself without money nor work, then I would be stupid not to grasp every opportunity to improve. To know that should I be laid off from work, I could actually provide for myself by playing online ... well ... that's pretty awesome IMO.

At first I played everything I could find: cash games, SNG and MTTs. I got pretty lucky and managed to bink a few MTTs and run good in some CG, and pushed a roll of $150ish up to $2.5k or something similar in a few months. I felt pretty baller and was all set to start my professional career in poker: