yegon - the old man

• yegon
      yegon
      Bronze
      My name is Martin, I am from Slovakia and yes i am quite old to be studying online poker :) 37 if I am not mistaken.

I have been playing for 5 or 6 years, mostly 6max cash games with occasional MTTs. I play NL100-NL200 sometimes higher if I feel that I am playing well.

I have been studying poker theory for a long time and I feel like I have a good understanding of a lot of concepts but seem to either misapply them.

Due to the fact that I also run a business and have a family my volume is not great and even though looking back at my game from 2 years ago I am laughing and my understanding of poker is getting better I am still playing the same limits, having the same problems and not moving forward.

My main goal in poker is to be happy with my game, to feel that I am playing better then the guys I play against, to be able to see the mistakes they are making and exploit them effortlessly, to have confidence in my game in most situations.

Confidence is one of my problems, I seem to lose it quite quickly when my results are bad and due to my low volume such stretches can take a long time. So I spend a lot of time not being sure if I can play well or actually suck at poker totally.

The other thing I am struggling with is making conclusions when doing work off the table. Often I work on some part of my game and halfass it, giving up before finishing the work and writing down exactly what I found out and the things I learned. Then when a situation I worked on comes up I do not have a solution, I only have a feeling what the right play could be - this of course does not go well with low confidence.

Id like to set a study routine and develop habits for finishing the job i am doing. I think this would help me move my game forward.

I am currently working on my nonSD winnings, studying videos, combing through my HEM database - with mixed results so far.
  • 14 replies
    • bartjuh
      bartjuh
      Bronze