Odds and Number of Seated Players

• Jezzabeanz
      Jezzabeanz
      Bronze
      Hello,

I'm relatively new to poker and I've began learning the mathematics behind it all. However I have a question, which may be a stupid question but I'm sure I will find out here.

My question is this: How does the number of players affect the odds?

I pose this question because say I hold 2 suited cards and I flop a four flush, there are 9 cards which can help me make my flush. If it was heads up, the probability of my opponent being dealt two of the same suited cards as I is 23% (Source). So I'll assume he doesn't have them pre-flop.

Therefore I know that there are 9 cards that can help me (unless he holds 1 of the suit). This of course changes as the number of seated players increases, should it factor in to the odds? It seems that calculating the odds based on the number of seen cards doesn't factor in the number of total cards dealt and the remaining cards in the deck.

I'm not very good at mathematics but it seems that something is missing. I'm probably wrong but I thought I would ask to clear it up.

• 4 replies
    • gadget51
      gadget51
      Bronze
      Hiu Jezzabeanz,

I've moved this to Beginners Questions, it seems more appropriate there. :)

Regards,

Mal.
    • Jezzabeanz
      Jezzabeanz
      Bronze
      Thank you, Mal.
    • VorpalF2F
      VorpalF2F
      Super Moderator
      Super Moderator
      Originally posted by Jezzabeanz
      My question is this: How does the number of players affect the odds?

Therefore I know that there are 9 cards that can help me (unless he holds 1 of the suit). This of course changes as the number of seated players increases, should it factor in to the odds? It seems that calculating the odds based on the number of seen cards doesn't factor in the number of total cards dealt and the remaining cards in the deck.