Lost My Motivation to Play?

• maythany
      maythany
      Bronze
      Hello,

I'm going to keep it short and not write a whole entire story about why I don't have the motivation to play poker anymore.

Basically, I started playing 6 max sngs awhile back and grinding every day (mostly). I decided that it was time for me to move up to the $3.50s because my statistics indicated that I am skillful enough.

After 20 games I ended up making around 8 dollar-ish and I logged off and began reading the book: Mental Game. This was two weeks ago and I haven't played poker since then.

I seem to be finding excuses to not play like going to the washroom, eating, surfing the internet, and what-not. This was never a problem before and I don't know how to regain my motivation. I've watched motivation videos on youtube and that didn't work.

I think it's because I'm afraid of failing so I don't bother to play at all, but I'm not really sure that's the case. Has anyone gone through the same situation as me and can shed some light on this matter?

Thanks,

Maythany
  • 4 replies
    • UPAY4DINNER
      UPAY4DINNER
      Bronze
      Hey maythany,

I can certainly subscribe to what you have posted above. The answer is quite simple though - if you don't feel like playing - then don't!

Take a break for however long it takes to get your motivation back. Everyone feels this way once in a while. I certainly do. So, recharge your batteries and come back strong!

Gary
    • dogma18
      dogma18
      Bronze
      Hey mate!

I went through a patch like this about 3 weeks or so where i was on a huge breakeven spell and my motivation was dead. What I did was just stop focusing on results at all and focus solely on my game.

There must be ways you can improve your game that you haven't thought of yet.
      for example are you,