Outs and Odds

• kokuzbaksuz
      kokuzbaksuz
      Bronze
      Hi all,

I was going through different articles and learning as much as I could but the thing with Outs, Pot Odds and corelation between them to figure out if it's worth to pursue a draw or not, seems to be quite time consuming in order to use it in live game on the spot. Is there any way to be able to learn it faster and more simple or it's just my imagination that it seems to be complex to use it quickly when needed. I'm just a beginner so excuse my ignorance concerning the matter. I just wish to learn as fast as I can.

Thanks all for your replies!

kokuzbaksuz
  • 9 replies
    • Vevusio
      Vevusio
      Bronze
      hm not really, some you will know by heart pretty soon

flush draw on the flop gives you a 35% chance to hit on either turn or river and on each around 20%

lets say you have some huge draw with 15 outs on the flop then there are ~45 cards left

15 / 45 = ~33% on each the turn and river

you just need to multiply/divide, you can do that quite fast in your head, besides there are these thumb rules like
      percent on turn/river = outs * 2 + 1
      percent on completing with turn and river = outs * 4% - 2%

smth like that, you get used to it quite fast
    • kokuzbaksuz
      kokuzbaksuz
      Bronze
      I guess you learn a lot of those by heart and it comes natural to figure it out in live game... I hope it won't take me too long to get there.... Thanks for your input!
    • delete461
      delete461
      Bronze
      In the outs and odds article there is a chart with some basic odds you should know. Either print this chart out or have it open in another window while you play and check it whenever you need to, after a while you will know them by heart.
    • straddler71
      straddler71
      Global