Dreams and Aspirations

• maythany

I'm wondering if anyone has been in my position before and what did you do to push yourself?

My story: I started playing 6 max $1.50 2 months ago. I got some coaching sessions and that really helped me become a better poker player. I would play poker 4-5 hrs whenever I got home and I worked 12 hours during that time.

So I would give up sleep in order to play poker because I had a goal I was gunning towards. Eventually I played about 980ish $1.50 games and decided my game was good enough to move up to the $3.50s. I played like 20 games and decided to read the mental game of poker by Jared. After I started reading that book, something happened to me.....

I can't explain it, but I started playing less and eventually didn't play at all for a month straight. I would always make plans like "okay, I get off at 6 p.m. today and it takes me an hr to get home. I'll do this, do that and then play poker for the rest of the time that I have", but I never follow through.

I stopped going on skype(poker 6 max group), and I've been making lame excuses as to why I shouldn't be playing poker right now. Maybe it's because my goal is too unrealistic (becoming a supernova)?. It'll be a long hard road to reach my goal and that's probably why I am unmotivated? Because I subconsciously know the hours I have to commit and the sacrifices I need to make in order to reach my goals?

I don't really know, and I feel sort of stupid asking this question, but I just can't seem to put my foot on the pedal and keep it there.

Edit: I've been playing poker since I was 19 so it's not new to me.
  • 3 replies
    • Schnitzelfisch
      Many possible reasons. You can either write a vision statement (check chapter 1 of my productivity guide in "learn to win" section of the forums, or you can simply start playing before you go to work (this is a quick fix though).

I also recommend you to read the "projects" section of my productivity guide.

• Benm473