[NL2-NL10] NL25 pocket 7

    • alejandrosh
      alejandrosh
      Bronze
      Joined: 02.07.2008 Posts: 4,346
      is it fine to call here in the button? I think shoving the flop is the only option, am i right?


      Known players:
      Position:
      Stack
      BB:
      $12,00
      MP2:
      $26,35
      MP3:
      $10,20
      CO:
      $25,00
      Hero:
      $5,00

      0,1/0,25 No-Limit Hold'em (7 handed)
      Hand recorder used for this poker hand: PokerStrategy Elephant 0.58 by www.pokerstrategy.com.

      Preflop: Hero is BU with 7:spade: , 7:club:
      MP1 folds, MP2 calls $0,25, MP3 calls $0,25, CO calls $0,25, Hero calls $0,25, SB folds, BB checks.

      Flop: ($1,35) 5:spade: , 7:heart: , K:spade: (5 players)
      BB checks, MP2 bets $1,00, 2 folds, Hero raises to $4,75 (All-In), BB folds, MP2 calls $3,75.

      Turn: ($10,85) A:spade:
      River: ($10,85) 8:diamond:


      Final Pot: $10,85

      Results follow (highlight to see):
      Hero shows three of a kind, sevens (7s 7c)
      MP2 shows a pair of kings (Th Kh)

      Hero wins with three of a kind, sevens (7s 7c)
  • 5 replies
    • DeKuip
      DeKuip
      Bronze
      Joined: 07.03.2008 Posts: 10,984
      I would have pushed this one preflop.
      With 3+ limpers you can push all the hands from the SHC, because you'll be committed on every flop when you make a normal raise.

      After limping you only play for set value. Because when overcards show up (big chance when holding 77), you'll have to fold your hand because there are too many people that are able to hit (one of) the overcard(s).

      As played your floppush was good!
    • Werkon
      Werkon
      Bronze
      Joined: 29.06.2008 Posts: 78
      Technically, you should raise $1,75 because you are in late position and no-one raised before you. You often win like this without confrontation (but I'm not sure if it is the case with so many limpers). I do like the idea of pushing DeKuip mentioned. I'm not sure about calling here though, judges say that it is bad for SSS, I can't prove it to you, lets wait for some judge :)
    • alejandrosh
      alejandrosh
      Bronze
      Joined: 02.07.2008 Posts: 4,346
      thanks for the response, i was playing for set value since i wasn't sure i was getting fold equity with a raise so i tought about pushing but decided to limp instead. i guess next time i'll push.
    • 098799
      098799
      Silver
      Joined: 23.07.2007 Posts: 1,245
      Hi,

      77's not such a bad hand, but you can do it with every pocket pair down 77's. Here it's marginal. You may, as stated, pushi it, althought calling is also not such a bad idea. Both I playable, I guess.
    • veriz
      veriz
      Black
      Joined: 20.07.2008 Posts: 65,504
      I would call here as well :P