Hold em no limit cash games, is it worth it?

• darkpenance0
      darkpenance0
      Bronze
      I have a bit of a chip on my shoulder at the moment in regards to online no limit texas hold em cash games, I just can't see any way to make money.

When I started playing poker online back in 2007 as a Student I placed $25 into a poker site and through study and trial and error I found myself consistently beating the tables and moved up stakes from 0.01/0.02 to 0.25/0.50 so by 2009 I was making $600 a month playing short handed cash games.

After I left Uni I became a recreational player not really having the time or desire to play for 5 hours a day. Well I recently started playing seriously again but there seems to be a massive improvement on the average skill of players, I started out at 0.10/0.25 and made a loss after 10,000 hands so I moved down stakes to 0.5/0.10 where after 5,000 hands I'm just about breaking even (I'm up $8).

Has the world just become so apt on Poker Theory that the fish and lunatic players just dont exist anymore? Sure I see them every now and then but back in the day you could sit at a table and expect to find 50% bad players to take advantage of, now your lucky if you find 1 and they generally dont stick around to long.

I made my money by playing super loose aggressive from late positions and super tight oop making good money when my super loose range in position caught 2 pair/flush/str8/trips and I'd get paid off with premiums. I could even float a 3better and take down pots when they tried to stand up to my raises with hands as low as Q8 off.