ghennt

• ghennt
      ghennt
      Bronze
      Hi there!

I'm a energy systems researcher from canada living and working in the netherlands who likes to play poker a few nights a week. I've played online and home game poker since about 2007 at a very recreational level. In the beginning I just realized playing tight worked to get the chips and started reading some books (harrington on holdem, phil gordons little green book) in summer 2010 when I was bored. Had some success in 45/90 man MTTs at micro buyins and even took down a 4k GTD $1.10 freeze out on pokerstars. Since graduating however I've found my time for playing has really shrunk and now I'm playing zoom 2nl SH. After finding pokerstrategy and feeling like I'd like to move up the CG ladder I've decided to take things a bit more serious and hence, join the NL beginners course! I hope to improve many parts of my game, and look forward to participating here and sharing my experiences with everyone!

Homework assignment #1:

What is your motivation for playing poker?

I really enjoy the game itself and especially the satisfaction of looking back on hands played and thinking 'yes i played that as best as I possibly could'. Learning and talking about the game are just really interesting and get me excited. On the same token, I see poker as a real exercise in self control/discipline and internal balance. When I play well I can feel the centre of calm within me that help ring good decisions, and feeling this motivates me to play more because, hey, it feels good!

Of course winning money is always another motivator. I don't expect to make riches, or even a living from this game, but would be content knowing I can play very well (to the best of my abilities) and slowly accumulate a nice BR - perhaps for future savings for example. I guess my two motivations are linked in that way - if I can build a nice BR I can also look back and see how I've played well to accumulate it.