Improve your setup improve your motivation

• NightFrostaSS
      NightFrostaSS
      Bronze
      Firstly by all means I'm no expert on such stuff and hopefully other people will add to this thread some additional tips on improving ones poker setup. This thread is more aimed toward poker newbies so if you are an exper grinder/gamer you most likely won't find this info interesting.

So here we go. For many years I've been ignoring my poker grinding setup which manifested in having low motivation to grind and study. It may seem obvious that for a poker player, comfortable setup is of huge importance but I've ignored it as many people I know seem to do too. Usually these are the same people that have problems with putting in the hours at the tables. All the big volume grinders I know have great setups.

Importance of ergonomics of your setup and your posture

Not gonna get into much detail on how to set stuff up for comfortable grind as there's plenty of stuff floating around internet already, here's a link to one of the guides: Guide to setting up and ergonomic computer station

This is of huge importance and should never be ignored. I was grinding for one year on a kitchen table with a kitchen chair. The end result was that I would have neck pain every day after few hours of work with computer. Many people like laying in a chair too, but it usually results in back and neck pain too. Hard to put in the quality hours at the table if you constantly feel pain. So take care of that.

Mouse and Mouse Pad

I find that mouse is of big importance. As a poker player you make way more clicks per day than an average person does. So both durable and comfortable mouse should be top priority to get for your grinding setup. Cheap mice tend to break fast so don't be a cheapskate and get a more expensive one.

You aren't a pro CS gamer so it's not necessary to get a gaming mouse, but in my opinion it's a good choice because: