This site uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to browse the website, you accept such cookies. For more details and to change your settings, see our Cookie Policy and Privacy Policy. Close

Probability Difficulties

• yougotfelted51
      yougotfelted51
      Silver
      Tonight I have an exam with 10 short answer questions, of which 7 will be on the test, and I have only studied 7.

What are the odds that all 7 questions I studied will be on the test??

My classmates and I have been arguing but have no definitive answer so far :f_confused:
  • 14 replies
    • TJtheTJ
      TJtheTJ
      Bronze
      So what exactly is the problem we're working with?

I'm interpreting it like this:
      There's 10 questions you had to study, and you have a test of 7 questions. Then, you studied only 7 out of 10 questions. What are the odds that exactly those 7 questions will be on the test.

Am I interpreting that correctly?
    • yougotfelted51
      yougotfelted51
      Silver
      yes TinoLaan that is it exactly. none of us are the best at math so no luck so far in figuring it out
    • TJtheTJ
      TJtheTJ
      Bronze
      Ah, in that case it's pretty simple really. The odds of the first question being one that you studied is simply 1/7. In fact, the odds of the first one being any of the 10 questions is 1/7, because there's 7 questions. Then the odds for the second question are 1/6. And so on.

Since there's 10 possible questions though, you have to account for that. The 7 questions you studied can be the questions on the test in (10 choose 7) = 120 possible combinations.

So the odds of exactly those 7 questions being on the test are

(10 choose 7) * (1/7*1/6*1/5*1/4*1/3*1/2*1/1) = ~21.4%
    • yougotfelted51
      yougotfelted51
      Silver
      thanks Tino! my one classmate actually had the combinations correct but we were all scrambling on the %. Thanks again :)
    • datalogg
      datalogg
      Bronze
      21% seems way to big...