Probability Difficulties

• yougotfelted51
      yougotfelted51
      Bronze
      Tonight I have an exam with 10 short answer questions, of which 7 will be on the test, and I have only studied 7.

What are the odds that all 7 questions I studied will be on the test??

My classmates and I have been arguing but have no definitive answer so far :f_confused:
  • 14 replies
    • TinoLaan
      TinoLaan
      Bronze
      So what exactly is the problem we're working with?

I'm interpreting it like this:
      There's 10 questions you had to study, and you have a test of 7 questions. Then, you studied only 7 out of 10 questions. What are the odds that exactly those 7 questions will be on the test.

Am I interpreting that correctly?
    • yougotfelted51
      yougotfelted51
      Bronze
      yes TinoLaan that is it exactly. none of us are the best at math so no luck so far in figuring it out
    • TinoLaan
      TinoLaan
      Bronze
      Ah, in that case it's pretty simple really. The odds of the first question being one that you studied is simply 1/7. In fact, the odds of the first one being any of the 10 questions is 1/7, because there's 7 questions. Then the odds for the second question are 1/6. And so on.

Since there's 10 possible questions though, you have to account for that. The 7 questions you studied can be the questions on the test in (10 choose 7) = 120 possible combinations.

So the odds of exactly those 7 questions being on the test are

(10 choose 7) * (1/7*1/6*1/5*1/4*1/3*1/2*1/1) = ~21.4%
    • yougotfelted51
      yougotfelted51
      Bronze
      thanks Tino! my one classmate actually had the combinations correct but we were all scrambling on the %. Thanks again :)
    • datalogg
      datalogg
      Bronze
      21% seems way to big...
      Isn't it 1/(10 choose 7)=1/120=0.83% ?