What stats should I keep track on?

• Melwis
      Melwis
      Bronze
      Hello!

I'm wondering what stats you think I should keep track on if/when I start to play alot of poker at the microlimits (since im a rookie)? I'm going to be playing at 0.01/0.02 NL Holdem limit.

I'm not interested to go serious with poker, mainly want to play it for fun, hence I do not want to invest in a program like PokerTracker or Holdem Manager at the moment.

Some stats I already know but want to be sure I am not missing any important ones:

Hands played
      Time played
      $/hour
      BB/100
      Hands/hour
      Limit
      Buy-in
      Result

Maybe these stats will do or am I missing some? Is any of the stats above not needed?

Also, i'm interested if there is any good Excel documents that anyone know of with all these important stats (and equations) already implemented cause that would be handy! :)
  • 6 replies
    • DrDunne
      DrDunne
      Bronze
      Hey Melwis!

when you say "what stats to keep track on", do you mean stats that describe your own play, or play of your opponents?

i understand that you don't want to invest money if you wont be considering poker so seriously, but tbh it will be quite difficult to look into stats without such a program. i am really not aware of any Excel document that will keep track of these stats - if you are that interested then i think you should just invest in the program because it will be recorded much more effectively and reliably than if you were to input data manually.

about the important stats, i guess the most important imo would be VPIP and PFR - 'voluntarily put money into the pot' and 'preflop raise'. these two stats are pretty important.