Can poker players get credit cards??

• football123
      football123
      Basic
      I'm 20 years old and I play poker for a living. Outside of poker I've had one other job and I only worked it for 5 months. I know I should probably start building credit, but when they ask what your job is they tend not to want to give credit cards to poker players. Wanted to see if anybody who plays full time without another source of income has been able to get cards.
  • 9 replies
    • sirilidion
      sirilidion
      Bronze
      you do know you can get a creditcard through moneybookers or neteller, right?
    • MatejM47
      MatejM47
      Black
      Actually moneybookers doesn't have a credit card.
    • holmeboy
      holmeboy
      Bronze
      The NETeller and Skrill ones are prepaid mastercards which isn't what op is looking for.
    • Quadzzzzzzz
      Quadzzzzzzz
      Bronze
      It's horrible that as a student (UK) I can get a credit card no questions asked but if you play poker for a living they are going to be pretty reluctant.
    • ThatGuyMatt
      ThatGuyMatt
      Bronze
      You could always start of with getting Store Credit Cards to build credit ratings, doubt they'll turn you down as they can have small limits anyway.

So many stores have them now, just pay it back in full and no problem :)

It may also be worthwhile to go visit your local bank and discuss it in person, see what options there are, they may even give you a small allowance of £500 or so, just use it for Bills, Food, Petrol, Clothes, Junk Food etc, use it on EVERYTHING! I think you can also withdraw money from them or maybe even deposit into Poker Sites, but not sure (Maybe even be fee's for withdraws). Just be sure to pay it back in full each month, after a few months go back into the bank and ask for your limit to be increased and do the same.
    • sirilidion
      sirilidion
      Bronze