Need to improve my skills

• fjuws
      fjuws
      Bronze
      Hi All,

I'm Matt, new member to this site, I found saw an advert on TV and since I love to play poker I thought I might join so I can find some help to improve my poker skills.

I play poker whenever I have chance on PKR but I'm not a Pro of course. I really want to improve my poker skills so at least I can make some money per month, approximately a hundred per month will do.

I watch Poker channel everyday, and watch videos as well, have won some hands and managed to win some tournaments as well but I want to be better than this

Anyone has any suggestions what I should or can do to improve my skill in the game of poker?

Mat
  • 12 replies
    • VorpalF2F
      VorpalF2F
      Super Moderator
      Super Moderator
      Originally posted by fjuws
      Anyone has any suggestions what I should or can do to improve my skill in the game of poker?

Mat
      Hi Mat !
      Welcome to PokerStrategy.com !

My suggestion would be to first get some of the free poker money, then sign up with an affiliated poker room.

Once that is done go through the strategy articles and videos using one of the courses. Even if you're not a rank beginner, I recommend the NL Beginner's course since it is a well-organised walk through the material.

Even if you "know it already" it is still a good idea to do the material.

Best of luck, and great to have you aboard!
      --VS
    • SpiritMountain
      SpiritMountain
      Basic
      Hi Matt,

Definitely practice makes perfect in poker. Keep working on your game and refining your strategy.

Good luck!
    • thirit2
      thirit2
      Basic
      Key of success 9/10 hard work, and 1 talent - Albert Einstein.
    • Jmm256
      Jmm256
      Basic
      Reading books always helps. The quickest and easiest way for me though was to just watch training videos and emulate what the pros were doing until I understood why.
    • legand73
      legand73
      Bronze