Sigm4

• SigmaSan
      SigmaSan
      Bronze
      Hi Guys,

I am Sigm4! I live in Belgium, divorced, two kids, I am a Civil Engineer in material science and a chess player. I did play some poker already in the past. Ones making 25 dollars from a free 5 dollar promotion on PartyPoker but lost it in one go after some bad beats occured... :-(

Looks like an awesome place here with lots of interesting articles and videos on poker, REAL POKER! :-)
      Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker?

I like the intellectual part of the game. How do we try and beat "Luck", how do we minimize our losses and maximize our wins. I very much like also the psychological part of the game :-). How do I can get into the other guy's head!

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker?

I am an emotional type player I think and can go easely on a tilt when I played "correct" but lost money or had to make a frustrating fold . Not enough discipline (in life) :-)

Question 3: What does it mean to play tight aggressive? (Describe in your own words what playing tight aggressive is and why does it work.)

Playing a narrow range of hands and when playing, betting and raising in stead of calling and checking.

This works because you take the initiative with dominating hands who on average (statistically) will win more often!
  • 8 replies
    • legand73
      legand73
      Bronze
      Hey Sigm4

Welcome to the beginner's course and welcome to pokerstrategy.com. Have you heard of our free money offers? if not they are definitely worth investigating.

Bogdan (our beginner's course coach) will be with you in the coming days to check your homework.

I hope that you enjoy poker as much as you enjoy chess because imo (based on my albeit limited exposure to chess) they are very similar games.

All the best,
      Luke
    • SigmaSan
      SigmaSan
      Bronze
      Hi Legand,