Your thoughts please

• Valsomething
      Hi All;

I am posting to ask for your thoughts and experiences (and maybe advice).

In short, I have been playing online poker for the past 5 years part time and play a range of games - MTT, SNG, SAT and of course cash tables.

The good news is I have won over $100k with my ITM being around 16-18% - not bad considering I am a low stakes player with Buy In's around $1-$5 and my cash stakes generally around $1/$2-$2/$4. The bad news is I have bought in/lost over $100k during this period so that after 5 years my total net position is a whole $15 - extremely good ROI (not)

Some of the problems I think are;

1. Even though I ITM ok, I rarely go deep and have only reached the final table in a big MTT once in the thousands of MTTs played (always working to improve this but this is the result so far). Hence whatever I cash is quickly used up in the following buy ins.

2. Tilting - not so much of a problem but am guilty of tilting away my winnings once in a while although certainly not enough to warrant the total poor ROI but it hasen't helped either.

Over the years, I have tried and tested all the different playing styles from tight aggressive to loose maniac and have settled on starting the MTT relatively loose and tightening up as the BB gets bigger - this seems to have the best results for me.

So my question is, is this roller coaster a not so unusual fact of online poker? I hear and see stories of many people building their bankroll from $50 to hundreds of thousands and some millions. These people are probably better players than me but surely an ROI of 0.000000000001% is unusual?.

I am not expecting or even aiming to make millions. I just want to build my bankroll and after 5 years of trying different approaches with varying results I am a little lost for ideas of how to get out of this win-lose cycle.

Your thoughts are welcome.
  • 8 replies
    • gadget51
      Hi there Valsomething,