Hello!

• Darkenwrath
      Darkenwrath
      Bronze
      Hello Everyone,

I'm in the UK, big lover of poker and decided to start on this site and try and learn and see how far I can get. Love texas hold'em and been playing micro limit cash games at the moment to see how well I'm understanding the basic material. I've got alot of the basic material down bit I've been wondering what's the best way to go about learning how to get better.

Do I get the poker software and learn how to use it to improve immediately?

Do I go through all the posts in order?

Should I be making notes and revising on what I've been learning from the site?

Should I be playing micro-limit poker while I'm still learning basics like pot ins and outs? (So far been making money more than losing using starting hands charts etc)
  • 5 replies
    • TinoLaan
      TinoLaan
      Bronze
      Hey Darkenwrath,

Welcome to the forum!

How and how fast you learn is different for everybody. However, I certainly have a few recommendations and answers for you with regard to your questions!

Do I get the poker software and learn how to use it to improve immediately?
      Poker software such as Holdem Manager and PokerTracker can be incredibly useful, because it allows you to keep track of not only your opponents, but your own game as well. However, if you have no idea yet how to use the stats such software provides you, then it may not be worth getting them yet.

Also, such software is very useful for reviewing your sessions and posting hands for evaluation (the PokerStrategy.com SideKick is great for posting hands as well!).

Long story short, they are very useful, but not a requirement.

Do I go through all the posts in order?
      This, too, is dependent on how you learn. If you are looking to improve your game in a specific area, then you may want to just look for an article on a specific topic.