MTT - SNGs

• RockEye
      RockEye
      Bronze
      I am having problems playing MTT - SNG's. When i started playing online poker, i was actually good at playing SNG's. I've won several of them, but when my general poker knowledge started to expand i play cash games better, but can't seem to last more then 1/4 of MTT or SNG.
      The only possible reason i see is that is play too tight. Everywhere i was reading even here on PS the rule is "tight is right on the beggining". But i see the action of other players playing ultra agressively with marginal hands and slowly building their stacks. I fold 99% of my hands cause i can't get a single good hand to play with, then blinds start to eat me alive.
      It all looks as i'd be cursed or something. I did a test and tryed to call, raise, reraise and "look and behold" i started to get better cards. Wtf! It seems that ppl playing agressively get better hole cards and more often. But then again i burned my chips fast and still fell out very early, cause my AA,KK and every pair or three of kinds gets cracked.
      Did somebody noticed that?

I am beginning to wonder if tournaments are like LOTO or roulete, it all depends on luck?

I am having no problem playing cash games successfully but MTTs and SNG's are a mistery for me.
      Can someone share their point of view and their oppinions, how the MTTs and SNGs should be played.
  • 21 replies
    • NiekamNeidomu
      NiekamNeidomu
      Bronze
      sng variance is alot bigger.. T_T
    • kukkiwonBG
      kukkiwonBG
      Bronze
      Start learning ICM before playing sng at all
      Tight in the beginning and loose pushesh in the end. It's that simple.
      :D :D :D
      Tournaments maybe a lotto, but you cannot get "lucky" if you play bad.
      Good poker=more luck
      Every body lose more of the tour.. they play.
      But only bad player never win without luck :rolleyes:
    • cannell555
      cannell555
      Bronze
      Hi RockEye,