Sng Strategy Questions

• Michael2345
      Michael2345
      Basic
      Hi everyone,

So right now I just started playing online again. I got up to playing the 12 dollar sng's a couple years ago and right now I'm starting up again and hoping to continue even higher this time. I also play in a home league where there's about 18 players per night. The top 8 receive points each week and the top 4 receive money on a percentage similar to that on the pokerstars 18 man payout structure. I have a few questions that I've run into both live and online:

Live: I was dealt AQh in the bb 6 players left and I'm the short stack with about 10 bb's everyone else is about midstack with a couple big stacks. UTG who I noticed has been playing very tight open raised for about 4x. He's not the nittiest player ever but I know for sure he's playing a tight game but I've played with him before and seen him reshove less than premium hands. The sb (a pretty good aggressive player that's selective about his calling range) calls and then it got to me. I thought it was a pretty close spot and I know according to the basic hand chart or ICM it's probably a push which is what I did but I'm wondering what everyone else thinks is the right play in this spot.

Another close spot I got into was when the aggressive player to my right raised utg after he's been opening a lot of pots but I know he's been getting some pretty good hands so he hasn't gotten too out of line. I had AJh utg+1 and decided to call with about just over 20 bbs. I don't like just calling with this stack size because I don't have the initiative in the hand but I feel like if I shove I will only get called by better and just over 20 bbs is a lot to risk with AJh. Players and coaches thoughts would be greatly appreciated.