Betting FD in micros.

• SleepyDog
      SleepyDog
      Bronze
      Hi all !

I'm a beginner so that might be an obvious mistake :

I'm wondering if betting flush draws at micro stakes (I play PLO2) is profitable. My reasoning behind this is that at these stakes players tend to call a lot so your fold equity is really low compared to higher stakes, so why bet a flush draw and not just take a free card and bet if you hit ?
  • 4 replies
    • SleepyDog
      SleepyDog
      Bronze
      Well, I played with numbers, pot odds and such so I'll try and answer my own question and/or add a few more.

Let's assume that players at micro stakes are quite loose-passive and tend to call more often.

With only a naked nut FD it makes a lot of sense to check and try to see a cheap turn card to help define or hand because :
      • By betting we would give ourselves bad pot odds to play our FD.
      • Our implied odds that would be extremely low at higher stakes when a flush completes are actually still good at micros because our opponent tend to call a lot more (with lesser hands like straights, sets and lower flushes).

It's another matter if we have a FD + a made hand (two pairs or better) or a FD + backdoor outs/redraws. Our hand being a lot stronger it might be more profitable to bet a flop and decide the best action on the turn depending on the card that comes, our opponent(s) actions, stacks sizes, etc.

Basically :
      • The more outs we have the more aggressive we can be regardless of the number of opponents in the hand.
      • The less outs we have the more passive we wanna play our draw especially with two or less players in the hand. (For pot control and pot odds)
      • The more opponents there is in the pot the nuttier we want our outs be.

I remind you that all this is assuming your opponent(s) are basically loose-passive calling-stations. Adjustments will have to be made with other types of players.