One Goal (Micro SNG blog)

• Salivanth
      Hi guys. Welcome to my SNG blog, and let's get right into who I am and what I'm aiming for, shall we?

Who am I?

I'm a 21-year-old Accounting student from New South Wales, Australia. I like Poker, Starcraft II (I'm writing this in between GSTL games, for any other fans out there), and mathematics. I'm currently waiting for a Precalculus class to start on a site called Coursera. I didn't pay any attention in high school, which is why the stuff I'm learning is pretty basic, but I've recently discovered a new appreciation for the subject. For some reason, everyone around me thinks I'm good at maths when I have less knowledge of it than a high school graduate. I think they're confusing "Good at maths" with "Can do arithmetic really fast.".

What do I want?

I want to earn money in online poker. I need to save around 250-300 bucks in order to travel to Sydney to see my Dad around New Years; we watch the cricket every year, and it's a tradition that's very important to him. He paid for my flights last year, and I really don't want that to happen this year. I used to tutor Year 10 and below students in mathematics, and I'm starting that up again, but there's no guarantee I'll actually get clients, and that was worrying the hell out of me, to have very little control over whether or not I'll actually make any money out of it this time.

Cue poker. I've played it on and off for quite some time, and my biggest problem is being unable to decide on a game, because I keep psyching myself out by wondering about the higher stakes, and whether there's money to be made there, how hard it'd be, etc. etc.

The rational response to this is "Who the fuck cares, dude, just cross that bridge when you get to it." but it's still a problem for me. However, this new approach solves that problem. The question isn't "What game should I play?" but rather "What game gives me the best chance to make this money in the next three months?"