Beginners Setup

• Cambridges
      Cambridges
      Bronze
      I want to put in some time on low stakes cash games to try improve my game. I've mainly been a MTT player so adjusting is going to be interesting. I also haven't played for around a year.

I'm in full time employment, with freelance work on top of that, so time is limited, only top of that I get eye strain/headaches sometimes (I'm a web developer, I look at a computer all day). So every second I can play I'll have to make count.

I'm planning on playing 1c / 2c, i'm basically going to throw a bunch of questions out there and hope some get answered:

• What bank roll should I start with at these stakes
      • How much should I have at the table to start with
      • How much should I earn at the table before going back to the default
      • What site should I use? I currently own accounts on FTP, PS and Party Poker
      • Should I be using software to track? If so which one?

Any resource that can help with the above would be awesome. I know there is "search functionality" however a lot of it is diluted and, from what I read - conflicting.

Desired resources are mainly:

low stakes bankroll management
      Basic poker maths
      cash game strategy.

huge thanks
  • 5 replies
    • Salivanth
      Salivanth
      Bronze
      In order:

20 BI for Full Ring and 25 BI for 6-max is the standard recommendation.

Depends on your strategy. The most common strategy, BSS, involves buying in for the maximum, which is 100 big blinds, or $2 at your stakes.

Theoretically, you should just stay. In practice, if more than 10% of your bankroll is at one table, feel free to leave the table.

Any should work, but someone more qualified might have a better answer.

Yes, but at your stakes it might not be worth buying. Try the free trials for Poker Tracker 4 and Hold'Em Manager 2, and decide which one you prefer.
    • Cambridges
      Cambridges
      Bronze
      Originally posted by Salivanth
      In order: