The goal of micro stakes?

• DrFrog
      DrFrog
      Bronze
      Hi, so I've been playing poker on and off for a few years, recently trying to put some effort into getting better at poker but I feel very confused at the moment as to how to learn.

I'm currently playing NL2 and so far I feel like I've become a winning player after being a break even player for a long time, I feel like I have the basics down pretty well now, and mistakes I make most of the time I feel I can identify. I don't feel like I'm getting better though which is the bottom line and what is making me feel confused.

The biggest thing which I feel confused about is I don't feel like I understand what I'm supposed to know while playing NL2.
      So at the moment I'm playing NL2 4 table zoom and trying to grind up a bankroll, and all I feel like I know how to do is play ABC poker and try to maximize my fat value which is working good but I don't feel like I'm improving as a player now.

Is it possible to learn things like hand reading, blind defence etc in NL2 or is it better I just focus on building a bankroll and waiting until I hit higher limits before I invest time into improving my theory?
  • 16 replies
    • metza
      metza
      Bronze
      You will have leaks for sure.

Just work on eliminating them, and moving up whenever you can.

Goal of the micros is to get good enough to win money at stakes where it actually matters.
    • scett
      scett
      Bronze
      Zooms are great roll builders, but they wont make you a great player.
      And yes its pointless to talk about advanced strats in nl2, just stick to basics and do what you do as long as you make profit.

Once you get to nl 10 or 25 I would suggest to move to regular tables as you want to have those deeper stats to be able to make better plays. Its your preference off course. Also zooms are known to be tighter, wth lower win rates, so once again its your preference.
    • VorpalF2F
      VorpalF2F
      Super Moderator