Badugi - Watch n' learn

• Malendes
      Malendes
      Hi, I wanna try something bit different – a blog about Badugi. I am an 18 years old guy from Scandinavian. I am a big fan of sports, especially soccer, as I have been playing soccer since I was a little kid. Watching all the sport at TV, I stumbled on poker a few years ago. I always have been thinking in numbers, and got my highest grades in math, so I think it was naturally that I found poker funny to watch. After a few months where I followed poker events on and off, I began to play for fun with my friends. I had seen the pros on TV, wiping their ass in 100-dollar bills after eating one fish after another, and I remember thinking ‘how hard can it be?’ Playing with my friends it wasn’t hard, but when I started playing online (play money), I found out that poker is so much more than luck and random play – you actually had to use your mind, before you could beat the good players. This definitely made me even more interested in poker.

Just before I turned 18, I began study poker. First the basics and later at SnG 6man and 180man. I started with a little deposit at Stars. However straight from the beginning I had to face it – I wasn’t even near the level of an average poker player, and I had to go back to the studying.

Back at the tables, I actually began having some nice play. Winning something here, losing something there. I also began to explore the pokerworld – Fixed Limit, Omaha and all kinds of draw games. Especially one game caught my attention, and that was the game called Badugi. Back at Hold’em the glory days were over. I still had a few good sessions, but didn’t level with my bad session. Instead, the money was rolling in when I played Badugi. I guess it is because it is an unknown game, so the level of players isn’t that high. So far, I have had a really nice run at Badugi, almost doubled my BR 10 times, but as the beginner I am, I have tilted most of the money away. :f_frown: