888 badbeats

• acerd1975
      acerd1975
      Bronze
      hi I have been playing on 888 for a couple of years now and it seems the better i get the more bad beats i suffer i have been logging win lose ratios on aa kk qq and ak recently with results as follows aa-won 11 lost 34, kk won 2 lost 29 qq won 2 lost 30 ak won 9 lost 18 have tried different ways of playing them ie all in , big raise , small raise ,call nothing seems to work whoever calls me gets what they need regardless of the strengh of there hand for instance the other day i had aa on $200 blinds in a freeroll raised to 950 called by 2 , k35 flop so raised 1400 called by 1 who then went all in after 6 on turn called him he had 23 , 2on river out! this is not an isolated incident it is happening too often it is mathmatically virtually impossible for these stats to happen can anyone help.
  • 6 replies
    • Rihard4a
      Rihard4a
      Gold
      Looks into thread expecting someone to need help. Sees another bad beat whinery...

One word - variance. There is no such thing as mathematically impossible in poker, everything is possible. If losing with AA, KK, QQ etc would be mathematically impossible vs certain hand then there would be record 0 occurrences of such... Read some materials on variance.
    • Rihard4a
      Rihard4a
      Gold
      You won't believe me how many times I have lost when I flop top full house...
    • RasTweet
      RasTweet
      Bronze
      Hey acerd1975

First of all I want to welcome you to PokerStrategy.com!

Sadly enough Rihard is correct. Variance can be hard on a man. I'm running into a lot of crappy hands myself these days and I really don't feel like playing poker right now. But I know it's variance! I'm just reviewing my hands, studying poker until I feel like playing again. I do this because playing poker when not feeling like it is bad and I'll just lose money because I'll play bad.