• Dhoni347
      Hi everybody,

I am Dhoni347 from Belgium and this will be my thread on the beginners' course.
      I started playing poker about 4 years ago in a local freeroll club but it's only since a year that I am taking poker more seriously. Therefore I believe I can still learn a lot from these courses and discussions on the forum.

Dhoni :s_cool:
  • 12 replies
    • Dhoni347
      Time for some homework, the first 4 questions:

Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker?
      My main motivation when starting to play poker was as a hobby and it turned out to be a really fun one. Before this (and also during the first year of playing poker) I was a chess player, but gradually my interest changed from chess to poker. The biggest reason was that chess was too exact for me: at virtually any moment there would be one move better than all the others and if you don't find it, you will probably lose the game. Of course in poker there are also certain 'moves' which are more profitable than others, but this time your opponent does play a role and you might not even have enough information to be 100% sure this move is the best. Secondly I got fascinated by the fact that there is so much more to poker than just a game of luck (as most people still think of it). Especially that there is quite a lot of mathematics behind it (which is good, as I am a mathematician :) )

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker?
      I am afraid this section is way to small for me state all my weaknesses. Moreover I am aware that I am probably not aware of all my weaknesses :rolleyes:

The ones I am aware of are mostly the following:

I have trouble figuring out correct bet sizes on turn or river.