[NL2-NL10] NL10 55 limpy limp flop monster/near nuts

    • davidangel
      davidangel
      Bronze
      Joined: 03.09.2008 Posts: 456
      Known players:
      Position:
      Stack
      BB:
      $5.90
      MP1:
      $2.15
      MP2:
      $5.90
      MP3:
      $7.15
      Hero:
      $1.75

      0.05/0.1 No-Limit Hold'em (9 handed)
      Hand recorder used for this poker hand: PokerStrategy Elephant 0.60 by www.pokerstrategy.com.

      Preflop: Hero is CO with 5:spade: , 5:club:
      2 folds, MP1 calls $0.10, MP2 calls $0.10, MP3 calls $0.10, Hero calls $0.10, 2 folds, BB checks.

      Flop: ($0.55) 5:diamond: , 7:heart: , 7:club: (5 players)
      BB checks, MP1 checks, MP2 bets $0.30, MP3 folds, Hero raises to $1.10, 2 folds, MP2 calls $0.80.

      Turn: ($2.75) K:club: (2 players)
      MP2 checks, Hero bets $0.55 (All-In), MP2 calls $0.55.

      River: ($3.85) 4:spade:


      Final Pot: $3.85

      With my re-raise I wanted to price the other 2 into the pot, but I think I bet too much. Should I push, minraise or call/push?
  • 9 replies
    • Puciek
      Puciek
      Bronze
      Joined: 23.01.2008 Posts: 657
      push, don't slowplay as SSS and wen you are going to be commited, just go allin. It's a lot less suspicious.
    • TheBu11d0g
      TheBu11d0g
      Bronze
      Joined: 25.07.2008 Posts: 2,019
      With your raise to 1.10 on the flop you was already pot committed to push on the turn so you should have just pushed on the flop, and the SSS states that if an opponent has already bet on the flop when you have a made hand then you instantly push.
    • 2DHades
      2DHades
      Bronze
      Joined: 25.01.2008 Posts: 515
      Just push on the flop.
    • TheBu11d0g
      TheBu11d0g
      Bronze
      Joined: 25.07.2008 Posts: 2,019
      forgot to mention in my original post that you shouldn't go anywhere near 55 if your playing correct SSS, also you nevel call a bet with SSS, its either raise, push or fold.
    • DaPhunk
      DaPhunk
      Bronze
      Joined: 01.03.2008 Posts: 2,805
      i disagree with the posts so far. I think you can call in this situation preflop because of the 3 limpers. (don't call with less) Imo you have the absolute nuts and NL10 players in general do not think so a slowplay is possible.

      As a shortstacker you should as a rule always follow the standard play. However in this situation you have what i regard to be the absolute nuts. It is always relatively easy to get all-in by the river as a shorty and you may see more bets on further streets.

      So on the flop i think you could have taken the line of
      1. A smaller reraise
      2. A call followed by an all-in on turn.


      Personally i would choose option 2.

      oh if you were wondering, what i regard the absolute nuts;
      -Nut/Top Straight on rainbow, unpaired board.
      -A high flush on unpaired board.
      -Any full house or better.
    • TheBu11d0g
      TheBu11d0g
      Bronze
      Joined: 25.07.2008 Posts: 2,019
      what about if someone was holding a 7, such as J7, K7 etc. Its no longer the nuts. The term nuts only means when you have the absolute unbeatable hand no matter what other cards may come, or are already showing.
    • 098799
      098799
      Bronze
      Joined: 23.07.2007 Posts: 1,245
      Sure it's callable in position and even out of it with sufficient number of limpers.

      I don't like your flop play though. You flopped absolute moster, a boat, and that way there're nearly no hands that can realistically call your raise here. I prefer simply calling as you can't really get outdrawned on the turn and river and waiting for anyone to hit something.
    • davidangel
      davidangel
      Bronze
      Joined: 03.09.2008 Posts: 456
      Thank you 098799 and DaPhunk
      I didn't like my flop play either, hence the post :D
      After reading the advice Call/raise push turn is the best option in this situation.
    • 098799
      098799
      Bronze
      Joined: 23.07.2007 Posts: 1,245
      One more thing: I'd like it much more if you had stack bigger than 20bb. With 17.5bb it's maybe not so 'sure it's callable' as I just wrote ;p but I think it's still correct because of the number of limpers.