Blank canvas...HELP!

• Flooooky
      Flooooky
      Bronze
      Good morning,

As the title suggests I am very new to poker and could do with some helpful suggestions to help me out along the way! I am 26 from the UK and haven't played much poker, I have decided to take advantage of some free cash and deposit $150 at 770 poker which will give me $40 dollars free and 200% bonus to clear. I should imagine the bonus will be difficult to clear as I am only playing NL5 (can someone clarify this). I have many questions about poker so sorry if this post comes across a bit needy, but I just want to give myself a great start!

As I mentioned in my first post in the beginners section I am currently reading The Education of a Modern Poker Player, written buy some of the guys on here. I also have a couple of harrington books for cash games and online poker which I am going to get on to next week. I have allotted myself quite a bit of study time running up to Christmas as I won't be depositing or playing until the 19th of December and even when I start playing i am going to adopt a study heavy balance as I am just starting out, I feel this will give me a good base of knowledge to start playing poker whilst keeping my losses minimum but giving me enough time to practice what I have learnt. Again, is this a good/bad idea?

At the moment I am struggling to work out equity and pot odds; does anyone have a link to an article to help me better understand, I used to be good at maths but haven't really had to do any for a while as I don't use it much in my profession.

Another problem I am having at the moment is finding a decent range to use, I have seen many hand range "guides" but they are all different and contradict each other, I have downloaded equilab and I am starting to understand its uses, looks like a powerful tool for a noob like me! Again any information on equilab or ranges would be useful.