PLO Omaha Question

    • philiveyfan
      philiveyfan
      Bronze
      Joined: 09.10.2009 Posts: 304
      Hey guys I haven't played plo in about 6 months and I have a question.

      Say for example the flop is 55 77 Ace and have a hand like qk32 and other person has a hand like qj89 is it a chop pot, do we play the board. someone please explain thanks
  • 17 replies
    • SheepMoose
      SheepMoose
      Bronze
      Joined: 15.01.2009 Posts: 854
      Wow, 5 card flop? PLO has changed since I last played it.

      You would win the pot with KQ high.
    • philiveyfan
      philiveyfan
      Bronze
      Joined: 09.10.2009 Posts: 304
      Originally posted by SheepMoose
      Wow, 5 card flop? PLO has changed since I last played it.

      You would win the pot with KQ high.

      why wouldn't it be a chop pot, do you not play the board in omaha?
    • SheepMoose
      SheepMoose
      Bronze
      Joined: 15.01.2009 Posts: 854
      I doubt you've ever even played PLO if you're asking this question.
      The most basic rule in PLO is that you must used two of your holecards. You can never play the board.
    • philiveyfan
      philiveyfan
      Bronze
      Joined: 09.10.2009 Posts: 304
      Originally posted by SheepMoose
      I doubt you've ever even played PLO if you're asking this question.
      The most basic rule in PLO is that you must used two of your holecards. You can never play the board.

      so for example say the board is 55 66 Ace and I have QK10J and you have

      Qk98 wouldn't we both have 2 pair playing the board, please someone answer this question
    • SheepMoose
      SheepMoose
      Bronze
      Joined: 15.01.2009 Posts: 854
      You're still not understanding. YOU MUST USE TWO OF YOUR GIVEN HOLECARDS.

      So if the flop was 556, turn was a 6, and river was an A, with no possible flush, KQJT and KQ98 would both split, with the hand of AKQ66.
    • ProActiveK
      ProActiveK
      Bronze
      Joined: 28.05.2013 Posts: 230
      Originally posted by philiveyfan
      Originally posted by SheepMoose
      I doubt you've ever even played PLO if you're asking this question.
      The most basic rule in PLO is that you must used two of your holecards. You can never play the board.

      so for example say the board is 55 66 Ace and I have QK10J and you have

      Qk98 wouldn't we both have 2 pair playing the board, please someone answer this question
      Yeah, we chop

      In your example your final hand would be 66AQK while my final hand would be 66AQK.

      EDITED //

      The rule is that you must use exactly two cards from your hand, and exactly three from the board.

      I hope I helped you :)

      Regards,
      ProActiveK
    • SheepMoose
      SheepMoose
      Bronze
      Joined: 15.01.2009 Posts: 854
      ProActiveK: You're wrong. If the two hands involved were AK27 and KQ27, and the board ran out AKQJT, both players would have a broadway straight.
    • ProActiveK
      ProActiveK
      Bronze
      Joined: 28.05.2013 Posts: 230
      Originally posted by SheepMoose
      ProActiveK: You're wrong. If the two hands involved were AK27 and KQ27, and the board ran out AKQJT, both players would have a broadway straight.

      .... well, thats it for posting before going to bed.... You are right ofc, thank you for correcting me.

      EDIT: will edit it so its not confusing to anyone
    • philiveyfan
      philiveyfan
      Bronze
      Joined: 09.10.2009 Posts: 304
      Originally posted by SheepMoose
      ProActiveK: You're wrong. If the two hands involved were AK27 and KQ27, and the board ran out AKQJT, both players would have a broadway straight.
      Hey sheep thanks for the help so another question do you ever play the board in omaha. for example flop is Q Q 88 3

      and i got AAk4 , people say you don't play the board but wouldnt my hand be AAQQ8 ? so my question is when do you play the board
    • SheepMoose
      SheepMoose
      Bronze
      Joined: 15.01.2009 Posts: 854
      Playing the board would be playing all 5 of the community cards, which never happens in PLO since you always have to use 2 of your cards.

      If, say, you have AAxx and the board runs out AQQQQ, you don't have Quads, you have a full house.
    • philiveyfan
      philiveyfan
      Bronze
      Joined: 09.10.2009 Posts: 304
      Originally posted by SheepMoose
      Playing the board would be playing all 5 of the community cards, which never happens in PLO since you always have to use 2 of your cards.

      If, say, you have AAxx and the board runs out AQQQQ, you don't have Quads, you have a full house.
      so what your saying is always use 2 of yours and 3 from the flop right
    • VorpalF2F
      VorpalF2F
      Super Moderator
      Super Moderator
      Joined: 02.09.2010 Posts: 8,913
      Originally posted by philiveyfan
      Originally posted by SheepMoose
      Playing the board would be playing all 5 of the community cards, which never happens in PLO since you always have to use 2 of your cards.

      If, say, you have AAxx and the board runs out AQQQQ, you don't have Quads, you have a full house.
      so what your saying is always use 2 of yours and 3 from the flop right
      Yup, except "3 from the flop, turn and river" would be better way to put it.

      Quads on the board would be SO painful.

      --VS
    • philiveyfan
      philiveyfan
      Bronze
      Joined: 09.10.2009 Posts: 304
      Originally posted by VorpalF2F
      Originally posted by philiveyfan
      Originally posted by SheepMoose
      Playing the board would be playing all 5 of the community cards, which never happens in PLO since you always have to use 2 of your cards.

      If, say, you have AAxx and the board runs out AQQQQ, you don't have Quads, you have a full house.
      so what your saying is always use 2 of yours and 3 from the flop right
      Yup, except "3 from the flop, turn and river" would be better way to put it.

      Quads on the board would be SO painful.

      --VS
      I got a question people say that you don't play the board in plo but say for example Board is qqkk5 and I have AA34 why is it that im playing aakkq I still don't understand fully if you can tell me If im wrong or right
    • VorpalF2F
      VorpalF2F
      Super Moderator
      Super Moderator
      Joined: 02.09.2010 Posts: 8,913
      Originally posted by philiveyfan

      I got a question people say that you don't play the board in plo but say for example Board is qqkk5 and I have AA34 why is it that im playing aakkq I still don't understand fully if you can tell me If im wrong or right
      You are right.
      Your hand is AAKKQ, but you're not "playing the board"

      In NLHE, if the board is AAAKK it is a chop assuming neither has an A or KK -- so both player's hands are entirely "on the board".

      On Omaha both players' hands are NEVER entirely on the board, since each must use TWO AND ONLY TWO cards from among the 4 hole cards.

      --VS
    • UPAY4DINNER
      UPAY4DINNER
      Bronze
      Joined: 27.09.2009 Posts: 21,926
      Moved to our Omaha board.

      Thanks for all the help guys :)
    • Kyyberi
      Kyyberi
      Coach
      Coach
      Joined: 09.07.2010 Posts: 10,511
      To make simple thing simple:

      Playing the board = using none (0) of your hole cards.

      And in PLO you HAVE to use 2, so it's impossible.
    • surfwell1818
      surfwell1818
      Bronze
      Joined: 18.11.2009 Posts: 137
      A great re-read.
      Love the frustrations of all helpers here.
      I remember having these similar questions and doing my head in figuring it out amid a cloud of no-limit pre-wired mind set.
      Peace to all,
      Simon