There Is No Shorterm: 2.5/50k NL10

• Jehryn
      Hello everyone,

Welcome to my blog dedicated to my new start in poker

About me

I'm a 31 year old Belgian expat living in Paris and working in Finance. I started playing a number of years ago with Pokerstrategy and the the wildy popular Short Stack Strategy. I played NL5-NL100 and some SNG's but I got frustrated with the endless downswings and I quit poker to go play Starcraft II :D

But now I'm BACK !

What Poker is about

In the last weeks I read several poker books to prepare myself for the tables and I read one sentence by Blackrain79, the famous micro-crusher, that really stunned me:

I do not understand the short run in poker. I only understand the long run. In the long run I win. In the short run I have no idea what is going to happen. And I just have to accept that.

A general sentiment with new poker players (like myself) is that we really complain downswings of 5000 hands were we just get bad beats and coolers, in the extreme case we rage about a 10k hands downswing like its the end of the world. But it isn't, its normal. When the minimum sample size to somwhat safely ascertain your true winrate is 100.000 hands, what point is there in raging about a few hands?

But that is exactly what I did and why I failed at poker. With a barely positive winrate I multitabled (16+) like crazy, chasing RB and deposit bonussen on every poker room in existence. And everytime a little bad luck pushed my winrate close to zero I tilted and raged until it became minus 100bb/100hands while blaming everything expect myself.

A second line in the book of Blackrain79 also stood out for me:

One of the biggest benefits of a high winrate is the noticable lack of large downswings