• jawoftheox

I've decided to join beginners course, to get through the basics one more time and just to start think more. I am going to start a blog as well, to track my progress and to keep motivated. I'm off school for a while now and It's quite hard to get back on learning habits and routine.

I've been around poker for a while, started playing for cash few years ago at school, was making decent pocket money, that went for a year or so. When I became 18, I started playing online, where I was completely loosing player, I never learned much and was just burning money. In past 6 weeks I started to take it more seriously, currently I'm playing NL2 on various sites. I'll probably get more into detail in blog.

p.s. I wanted to post a picture of a guy, wearing a backpack with a sticker "back to school", while holding a shotgun on his shoulders, but couldn't find it on web.
  • 7 replies
    • jawoftheox
      What is your motivation for playing poker?

Well, financial independence of course, being a master of my own. That's a lifetime goal though. But generally it's fun. I loved poker since the first time I played and there are hands where I lose big pots or whole stacks, but it puts a smile on my face, so it's not always about money. The feeling you get when you force your opponent fold the best hand is truly great, not on NL2 though, that's more for live games.

What are your weaknesses when playing poker?

I'm not going to get too deep into detail here, but general weaknesses are:
      - lack of concentration (autopilot)
      - getting knowledge into practice
      - tilt (irrational decisions)
      - bad memory
      - imprudent decisions
      - lack of patience

These are my general weaknesses, though they're improved in past few weeks, I'm going to work hard to continue improving them.

What does it mean to play tight aggressive?