• Styr
      Suffering beat after beat made me think about the variance in poker, and finding a tournament format with less of it.

Now, I consider myself an above average player (if not better), yet I have been breakeven at best for the last year or so. Also, I am about $2600 below EV in total. I don't even know if it is because of bad luck, or perhaps I am not that good at all as I would like to think.

I was under the assumption that hyper turboes are the most variance prone while the normal ones should be... well... normal.

After suffering yet another gayswing on top of the regular downwards spiral I decided to try out normal speed Fifty50'es. Thought that they should have the least variance of them all. Surely, I recuperated around $400 in a few days playing the $7 and $15 + the odd $30 games. Thought I had finally found a way to profit from online poker, but did not realise the joke was on me. It is almost impossible after the initial upswing.

So I thought as to what constitutes to variance?

Is it:

Blind levels
        Number of hands per tournament
        Number of entrants
        Tournament structure
        Skill level pre-flop
        Skill level post-flop

There might be more.

So hyper turboes should be most variance heavy because of the high speed levels? Yet because of its speed one gets dealt quite a lot of hands during a game.

On the other hand, normal speed games should have less variance? I believe you get actually dealt fewer hands in a normal speed game than in a hyper turbo.

In the end it comes down to the push or fold phase. Surely, knowing ones ICM helps. That is true for games of any speed.

The difference is that playing hypers gets one to the push or fold phase quite quickly, while it takes a lot of time of folding (or making fancy plays... you should really try it against donks) before getting there. And once there, it is basically the same. Does my QQ hold vs the villains AK or not?