• Harrier88
      All right, here we go.

I've been playing poker since early 2012, but originally only as a SNG/MTT player. I made the switch to cash games around September last year. I usually play shorthanded NL5-10 Zoom games on Pokerstars, but recently, I've mainly been playing regular SH NL2 tables on iPoker because that's where I have my tracked accounts.

I noticed that there seem to be some fundamental leaks in my game, but I can't really point my finger on them. Therefore, I decided to "relearn to walk" and take the NL Beginner's course.

Question 1: What is your motivation for playing poker?

As Rocky put it: To show that I'm "not just another bum from the neighborhood". :f_grin:
      Seriously though, it's more about the personal achievement than about the money. In any competitive environment, it is only considered good sportsmanship to try to do your best.
      Also, I come from a family that has always been very anti-gambling, and thinks that even at games like poker, it is virtually impossible to win. Some of my friends have a similar opinion, and I'd like to prove them all wrong.

While I personally don't think I have what it takes to be a professional any time in the future, I'd like to eventually evolve my game to a point where it can be considered an additional source of income.

Question 2: What are your weaknesses when playing poker?

Quite a few, and mostly mental ones.

Generally speaking, I seem to take the games to personally. I always hate to finish my sessions with a loss, and keep playing even though I know I'm not in the right mindset. Big losses are usually considered a personal defeat, and I easily lose my confidence when I catch myself making mistakes.
      Sometimes, I have a hard time telling when I got unlucky and when I made mistakes. I'm sure I have misjudged the reason for my losses both ways in the past.