Mind Set

• htghguuh
      Why is it that after 1 or 2 bad beats my game goes too the wall?

I have been playing now for 18 months and recently over about a 6 week period managed to accumulate a substantial bank roll.
      From$100 i made $800 .
      1 was really doing well and it was hard work, back checking my play ,putting people on ranges ,not joining cash rings and diving in .,studying play before getting involved.
      Needless to say i rewarded my self and withdrew halve my bankroll.
      I then re enterd play at the same level i was playing at .Thinking i would make the money back easily.
      I got a bad beat

88 4betl
      flop 8 10 3
      i check vilain raises i go all in
      turn 5
      river 10
      I put him on a 10 A
      HE HAD 10 3
      needles to say i was furious,and in one day lost the rest off my bankroll trying to punp it back up.
      I consistently get like this loosing all in one day after a few losing hands .

MY question is how do i get over these bad beat situations?
  • 6 replies
    • raprockx
      I think the main problem lies here - "Thinking I would make the money back easily." You should treat your opponents as equals and never overestimate how good you are. After bad beats I'd usually stop my session and check what I did wrong, after that I'd take a break and start playing again, it seems like you're too outcome dependent and it causes you to tilt/make bad plays and have a bad mindset.

I cannot analyze the hand, but I'm certain I'd call the raise and wouldn't push an all in, the turn would be a tricky decision for me though.

Don't take my opinion for granted as I only started playing recently, but that is how I'd go with things for myself and from what information I've gathered so far.
    • RasTweet
      Hey htghguuh

I'm sorry to hear you lost your roll :(